Southwater Village Hall Preschool

early years foundation stage (EYFS)

The provisions for children’s development and learning is guided by the Early Years Foundation Stage (DfE 2012). Our provision reflects the four overarching principles of the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage.

the four key themes within the EYFS are:

  • A unique child
  • Positive relationships
  • Enabling environments
  • Learning and development

The areas of learning and development within the EYFS are:

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional development
  • Communication and language
  • Physical development

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

children visiting local shop

None of the areas of learning and development can be delivered in isolation from the others. They are equally important and depend upon each other to support a rounded approach to child development. All the areas must be delivered through planned purposeful play, with a balance of adult-led and child initiated play. We aim to achieve the following:

  • High quality early years care and education to all children in a warm, secure, safe and caring environment.
  • To work in partnership with parents/carers so that we can provide for all children’s individual and changing needs.
  • Our Inclusion Co-ordinator encourages equal opportunities for all children, regardless of cultural differences, gender, and learning abilities.
  • Play equipment, materials and activities provided are planned by qualified staff to cover all areas of learning, enabling most children to achieve the early learning goals by the end of reception year at school.
  • All areas of learning are regularly evaluated, and modified and extended to meet the needs of the individual.
OFSTED rated good Logo